STATUS LIST

Amendment to Small Quantities Protocols

Status as of 3 May 2023

State ^a	IAEA letter dated	Amended
Afghanistan	10 Jan. 2014	28 Jan. 2016
Andorra	14 Dec. 2005	24 April 2013
Antigua and Barbuda	24 Aug. 2006	5 March 2012
Bahamas	24 Aug. 2006	25 July 2007
Barbados	8 Sept. 2020	•
Belize	8 Sept. 2020	21 June 2021
Benin	12 Dec. 2005	17 Sept. 2019
Bhutan	8 Sept. 2020	•
Bolivia, Plurinational State of	8 Sept. 2020	
Brunei Darus salam	8 Sept. 2020	2 Sept. 2021
Burkina Faso	12 Dec. 2005	18 Feb. 2008
Cabo Verde	12 Dec. 2005	7 Sept. 2022
Cambodia	12 Dec. 2005	16 July 2014
Cameroon	12 Dec. 2005	15 July 2019
Costa Rica	1 Sept. 2006	12 Jan. 2007
Croatia ¹	15 Dec. 2005	26 May 2008
Cyprus ¹	31 March 2021	, , , , , , ,
Dominica	8 Sept. 2020	
Dominican Republic	1 Sept. 2006	11 Oct. 2006
Ecuador	13 Dec. 2005	7 April 2006
El Salvador	1 Sept. 2006	10 June 2011
Equatorial Guinea ⁵		
Eswatini	14 Dec. 2005	23 July 2010
Ethiopia	12 Dec. 2005	2 July 2019
Fiji	8 Sept. 2020	2001) 2019
France ⁴	4 April 2012	25 Feb. 2019
Gabon	12 Dec. 2005	30 Oct. 2013
Gambia	15 Dec. 2005	17 Oct. 2011
Grenada	8 Sept. 2020	-,,,
Guatemala	1 Sept. 2006	26 April 2011
Guyana	8 Sept. 2020	2011111112011
Haiti	24 Aug. 2018	22. Jan. 2020
Holy See	5 Sept. 2006	11 Sept. 2006
Honduras	11 Sept. 2006	20 Sept. 2007
Iceland	12 Dec. 2005	15 March 2010
Ireland 1	14 Dec. 2005	13 March 2010
Kiribati		
Kuwait	8 Sept. 2020 15 Dec. 2005	26 July 2013
		20 July 2013
Kyrgyzstan	8 Sept. 2020	24 Jun 2 2022
Lao People's Democratic Republic	8 Sept. 2020	24 June 2022
Lebanon	14 Dec. 2005	5 Sept. 2007

State ^a	IAEA letter dated	Amended
Lesotho	15 Dec. 2005	8 Sept. 2009
Madagascar	12 Dec. 2005	29 May 2008
Malawi	12 Dec. 2005	29 Feb. 2008
Maldives	8 Sept. 2020	21 May 2021
Mali	12 Dec. 2005	18 April 2006
Mauritania	14 Dec. 2005	20 March 2013
Mauritius	8 Dec. 2005	26 Sept. 2008
Monaco	12 Dec. 2005	27 Nov. 2008
Mongolia	8 Sept. 2020	
Myanmar	8 Sept. 2020	
Namibia	8 Sept. 2020	4 July 2022
Nauru	8 Sept. 2020	·
Nepal	8 Sept. 2020	
Netherlands ²	31 March 2021	
New Zealand	18 Dec. 2013	24 Feb. 2014
Nicaragua	1 Sept. 2006	12 June 2009
North Macedonia	12 April 2006	9 July 2009
Oman	14 Sept. 2020 ³	, ,
Palau	9 Dec. 2005	15 March 2006
Panama	1 Sept. 2006	4 March 2011
Papua New Guinea	20 Aug. 2018	6 Feb. 2019
Paraguay	1 Sept. 2006	17 July 2018
Republic of Moldova	14 Dec. 2005	1 Sept. 2011
Saint Kitts and Nevis	24 Aug. 2006	19 Aug. 2016
Saint Lucia	20 Aug. 2018	23 Nov. 2021
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines	8 Sept. 2020	20110112021
Samoa	8 Sept. 2020	
San Marino	5 Oct. 2010	13 May 2011
Saudi Arabia	8 Sept. 2020	13 Way 2011
Senegal	12 Dec. 2005	6 Jan. 2010
Seychelles	8 Dec. 2005	31 Oct. 2006
Sierra Leone	8 Sept. 2020	
Singapore	12 Dec. 2005	31 March 2008
Solomon Islands	8 Sept. 2020	
Sudan	8 Sept. 2020	19 Feb. 2021
Suriname	8 Sept. 2020	31 Oct. 2022
Togo	14 Jan. 2014	8 Oct. 2015
Tonga	13 Dec. 2016	3 April 2018
Trinidad and Tobago	22 July 2021	3 April 2016
Tuvalu	8 Sept. 2020	1 Dec. 2022
Uganda	8 Dec. 2005	24 June 2009
United Kingdom ⁴	4 April 2012	27 June 2007
United Republic of Tanzania		10 June 2009
	5 Dec. 2005	
United States of America ⁴	11 Dec. 2006	3 July 2018
Yemen	8 Sept. 2020	
Zambia	8 Sept. 2020	
ZaniUla	o sept. 2020	

State ^a	IAEA letter dated	Amended
Zimbabwe	5 Dec. 2005	31 Aug. 2011
Total	87	61

Key

Italics

States Parties to the NPT that have not yet brought into force comprehensive safeguards agreements (CSAs) pursuant to Article III of the NPT.

- An entry in this column does not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of the Agency concerning the legal status of any country or territory or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers.
- ¹ Application of safeguards suspended under CSA with an SQP.
- ² SQP to the CSA is pursuant to the NPT and Additional Protocol I to the Treaty of Tlatelolco.
- ³ An agreement to amend the SQP was signed on 7 December 2016.
- 4 SQP to the CSA is pursuant to Additional Protocol I to the Treaty of Tlatelolco.
- 5 CSA with an SQP based on original standard text, not yet signed.

Small Quantities Protocols based on the revised standard text

Status as of 3 May 2023

Angola Bahrain Burundi Central African Republic Chad Comoros	3 March 2010 11 Sept. 2007 13 June 2007 7 March 2006 22 Nov. 2007 16 June 2005	28 April 2010 19 Sept. 2007 27 Sept. 2007 7 Sept. 2009 15 Sept. 2009	28 April 2010 10 May 2009 27 Sept. 2007 7 Sept. 2009 13 May 2010
Burundi Central African Republic Chad Comoros	13 June 2007 7 March 2006 22 Nov. 2007 16 June 2005	27 Sept. 2007 7 Sept. 2009 15 Sept. 2009	27 Sept. 2007 7 Sept. 2009
Central African Republic Chad Comoros	7 March 2006 22 Nov. 2007 16 June 2005	7 Sept. 2009 15 Sept. 2009	7 Sept. 2009
Chad Comoros	22 Nov. 2007 16 June 2005	15 Sept. 2009	-
Comoros	16 June 2005	•	13 May 2010
		12 D- 2005	
C		13 Dec. 2005	20 Jan. 2009
Congo	8 Sept. 2009	13 April 2010	28 Oct. 2011
Djibouti	3 March 2009	27 May 2010	26 May 2015
Eritrea	11 March 2020	20 April 2021	20 April 2021
Guinea	8 June 2011	13 Dec. 2011	
Guinea-Bissau	6 March 2012	21 June 2013	23 June 2022
Kenya	8 Sept. 2009	18 Sept. 2009	18 Sept. 2009
Liberia	8 June 2016	25 Sept. 2017	10 Dec. 2018
Micronesia, Federated States of	4 March 2015	1 June 2015	1 Sept. 2021
Montenegro	13 June 2007	26 May 2008	4 March 2011
Mozambique	22 Nov. 2007	8 July 2010	1 March 2011
Sao Tome and Principe	21 Nov. 2019	31 March 2023	31 March 2023
State of Palestine ¹	7 March 2018	14 June 2019	7 Sept. 2022
Qatar	24 Sept. 2008	19 Jan. 2009	21 Jan. 2009
Rwanda	16 June 2009	18 Nov. 2009	17 May 2010
Timor-Leste	11 Sept. 2007	6 Oct. 2009	
Vanuatu	8 Sept. 2009	21 May 2013	21 May 2013
 Total	22	22	20

Total	22	22	20
-------	----	----	----

Key

Italics

States Parties to the NPT that have not yet brought into force comprehensive safeguards a greements (CSAs) pursuant to Article III of the NPT.

An entry in this column does not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of the Agency concerning the legal status of any country or territory or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers.

The designation employed does not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever concerning the legal status of any country or territory or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers.

Rescission of Small Quantities Protocols

Status as of 3 May 2023

State ^a	Letter dated	Rescinded	
Azerbaijan	19 June 2015	15 July 2015	
Ghana	9 Oct. 2006	24 Feb. 2012	
Jamaica	9 Oct. 2006	15 Dec. 2006	
Jordan	25 Feb. 2015	24 April 2015	
Lithuania	31 March 2021	12 April 2022	
Malaysia	21 Nov. 2016	28 Nov. 2018	
Malta	31 March 2021	1 Sept. 2021	
Morocco	10 Oct. 2006	15 Nov. 2007	
Nigeria	20 July 2012	14 Aug 2012	
Syrian Arab Republic ¹	31 March 2021		
Tajikistan	12 Oct. 2015	6 Nov. 2015	
United Arab Emirates	26 Aug. 2021	6 Sept. 2021	
Total	12	11	

Key

Bold text States that have a non-operational SQP based on the original standard text.

For questions on the status list, please contact the IAEA Office of Legal Affairs at: OLA-Website.Contact-Point@iaea.org

An entry in this column does not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of the Agency concerning the legal status of any country or territory or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers.

¹ SQP no longer operational (i.e. terminated) and not yet rescinded.